Detox: Day 1


This week I’m starting a detox (this is not a hardcore Master Cleanse) that’s based on the recipes included in a previous issue of goop, by Gwyneth Paltrow, who’s been one of my favorite actresses since Sliding Doors. I know it’s cool to hate on Gwyneth, but I think she’s pretty damn talented. Anyway. I’m not sure if it’s an extended hangover from the holidays, which included a one month India trip, or if I’m just getting old and can’t eat (and drink) like a college kid anymore, but lately, I’ve really been feeling the effects of bad dietary choices. I don’t eat meat (no to poultry or fish too, but yes to dairy and eggs) but I get more than my fair share of processed food, which I think is the main culprit of my malaise.

Last night – Sundays are the best for making resolutions – I decided to eliminate processed foods from my diet for a week. I thought about trying the Blueprint cleanse that everyone’s been raving about, but decided to be economical given my grad student status. I just got a granny cart (no shame; I’ve been in the city for 12 years now and my shoulders are getting tired) and realized it’s going to be very easy for me to lug home fresh fruits and produce. I’ll be updating at least once a day with what I’ve come up with for meals and snacks. Just putting it out there:

  1. I will drink one morning cup of weak tea with a dash of honey.
  2. The recipes here are mostly taken from goop, but I will make variations for personal taste and what I have available.
  3. I don’t have a juicer, so I’ll be using a blender and strainer.

Breakfast: Carrot, Apple and Berry Juice
1 apple
8-10 baby carrots
1 handful of blueberries
Juice of 1/2 lemon

I tossed everything in a blender with 1 cup of water, liquified and poured myself a glass. It was delicious. So far so good.

Lunch: Cucumber, Basil and Lime Juice
1 cucumber
1/2 cup basil
1 apple
1/2 lime
1/2 cup water

Dessert: Almond Milk

The juice was incredibly refreshing. I have a pretty big sweet tooth, so I had the goop-approved almond milk. I’m not sure if this will fend of my chocolate cravings (I usually have a little chocolate every day), but I’m trying to build up a good defense.

The munchies hit me in the late afternoon. But I didn’t cave in and instead, went to the gym for a quick workout to sweat out the bad stuff. And then I got to work on dinner.

Dinner: Broccoli and Arugula Soup
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 onion
1 clove of garlic
12oz of fresh broccoli
2 1/2 cups of water
1 cup of arugula
Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 lemon

I heated up the olive oil in and then sautéed the diced onion and garlic for about a minute in a large non-stick pan. Next, I added in the broccoli, which I cooked for about 5 minutes, until it turned a bright green. The water, salt and pepper went in next. I brought the mixture to a boil, and then let it cook for about 10 minutes, covered. I poured this (very hot stuff!) into the blender, adding about a third each time, along with the arugula. Then it was into a bowl with lemon squeezed in. The recipe above made almost 3 bowls of soup, so I saved half of it for tomorrow.

The warm soup was just what I needed after a day of cold stuff. I’ve never been a huge fan of broccoli, but it tasted great here. I think the spicy arugula might have had something to do with it. I’ll definitely be making this again. It was also a big hit with my husband. He’s not completely refraining from processed foods like me, but is trying to limit them this week and give me company. I made him a grilled cheese with his soup….what a temptation!

I would say Day 1 has been successful. But I’ve read that the first day is always the easiest. Oy.

5 thoughts on “Detox: Day 1

  1. Pingback: Detox: Day 2 « Minjal's Musings

  2. Pingback: Detox: Day 3 « Minjal's Musings

  3. Pingback: Detox: Day 6 « Minjal's Musings

Leave me a reply